A Farewell to Merce

Merce CunninghamMerce Cunningham has died this week, at the age of ninety — and the arts world somehow feels much grayer today. In a choreographic career that stretched over nearly sixty years, Merce collaborated with a range of composers in bringing his works to life, but most closely with his life partner, John Cage. As a way of saying goodbye to Merce, here are a few of the musical partnerships that developed in the course of his work:

1953: Septet (Music: Erik Satie)
1965: Variations V (Music: John Cage)
1968: Walkaround Time (Music: David Behrman)
1972: TV Rerun (Music: Gordon Mumma)
1974: Westbeth (Music: John Cage)
1975: Changing Steps (Music: John Cage)
1981: Channels/Inserts (Music: David Tudor)
1983: Coast Zone (Music: Larry Austin)
1992: Beach Birds for Camera (Music: John Cage)
1999: BIPED (Music: Gavin Bryars, Biped)
2003: Split Sides (Music: Radiohead, Sigur Rós)

Share and Enjoy:
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • del.icio.us
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • LinkedIn
  • MySpace

Comments are closed.